Ethan Cannon Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/ Wed, 22 May 2019 02:35:19 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Tue, May 21, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-21-2019.html <p>New run with Josh. We sort of got lost and ended up having a good time anyway.</p> Tue, 21 May 2019 06:00:00 Mon, May 20, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-20-2019.html <p>Last night I got engaged! In hindsight, I am not sure why I told Josh I would be ready to run at 7:40. I didn&#39;t get to bed until about 12:40 haha. SO WORTH IT.</p> Mon, 20 May 2019 06:00:00 Sat, May 18, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-18-2019.html <p>12 miles with Josh on Geneva. Surprisingly it felt pretty easy to talk even when we were going 6:10-6:20 pace the second half. That was nice.</p> Sat, 18 May 2019 06:00:00 Fri, May 17, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-17-2019.html <p>Run in the rain with Josh&nbsp;</p> Fri, 17 May 2019 06:00:00 Thu, May 16, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-16-2019.html <p>9 miles with Josh.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 16 May 2019 06:00:00 Wed, May 15, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-15-2019.html <p>8 miles today after the bike tune-up</p> Wed, 15 May 2019 06:00:00 Tue, May 14, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-14-2019.html <p>Yay! I finally figured out my sleep problem. 9 miles this morning with Josh. Strength.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 14 May 2019 06:00:00 Mon, May 13, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-13-2019.html <p>Starting to run a little longer. Nice warm evening on the river trail. I ran twice by a very friendly guy. Some people don&rsquo;t like talking or acknowledging you whatsoever, but I need to still be friendly because it means a lot to some of us! Still a little scratchy in the Achilles.</p> Mon, 13 May 2019 06:00:00 Sat, May 11, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-11-2019.html <p>10 miles, left Achilles actually itched a bit. That&rsquo;s not good. It shouldn&rsquo;t be happening with this little impact, hopefully it goes away. I can&rsquo;t wait to start running more. I just don&rsquo;t have that awesome feeling you get after running 17 miles on a Saturday morning, you know?&nbsp;</p> Sat, 11 May 2019 06:00:00 Fri, May 10, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-10-2019.html <p>7 miles with Josh</p> Fri, 10 May 2019 06:00:00 Thu, May 09, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-09-2019.html <p>7 miles alone. I haven&rsquo;t been sleeping the best. Idk why. I must have been very restless last night or something because somehow one of my blankets ended up falling off my bed.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 09 May 2019 06:00:00 Wed, May 08, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-08-2019.html <p>7 miles easy with Josh</p> Wed, 08 May 2019 06:00:00 Tue, May 07, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-07-2019.html <p>7 easy miles (with Josh)&nbsp;</p> Tue, 07 May 2019 06:00:00 Mon, May 06, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-06-2019.html <p>7 easy miles with Josh.</p> Mon, 06 May 2019 06:00:00 Sat, May 04, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-04-2019.html <p>And that&#39;s a wrap to the season. Ran a 1:55.6 in the 800 at our time trial. Went through halfway in 55. I was bummed to see that only converted to a 1:55.1 at sea level. With competition and a better track maybe I have a 1:53 in me but probably no faster than that. Now it&#39;s time for XC TRAINING!!!!!! I&#39;m kind of excited because even though your improvement is still out of your hands, I feel like there is more you can do to influence how good you will be in distance running than in mile/800 stuff. I don&#39;t think I will be breaking 1:47 anytime soon, but running a 13:45 5K next year? I can see that.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 04 May 2019 06:00:00 Fri, May 03, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-03-2019.html <p>Ran with Josh this morning. Hope things go well tomorrow!</p> Fri, 03 May 2019 06:00:00 Thu, May 02, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-02-2019.html <p>It was just me and Josh at the workout this morning. It was cold when we started but thankfully the sun came up quickly. Just 4 by 2. It&rsquo;s really hard to tell with 200s how well you did. I didn&rsquo;t run anything scorching fast, but not was it a dead out sprint effort either. 27, 27, 26, 27.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 02 May 2019 06:00:00 Wed, May 01, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-01-2019.html <p>10 miles, shortened carterville loop. Three strides. Once again, today I felt like I should have been tired but wasn&rsquo;t. I feel blessed.</p> Wed, 01 May 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 30, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-30-2019.html <p>So I heard from Isaac last night that the last chance meet isn&rsquo;t really happening. That&rsquo;s too bad. On the flip side, apparently Eyestone actually wants me to be on the team this fall. That&rsquo;s cool! For now I&rsquo;m planning on finishing the season with an 800 time trial this Saturday. So it was kind of weird that we did Ks today. I was supposed to run 2:55. I went out in 64 ha. Then I just chilled to a 2:49 and was surprised how easy that was. We had a bit less than three minutes rest between every rep. Then I did 2:53 and 2:52. I wish I had someone to pace me on the 400s. I ran the first one in 57. Then 61, 62, and 60.</p> Tue, 30 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 29, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-29-2019.html <p>10 miles.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 29 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Sat, Apr 27, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-27-2019.html <p>Well, I got my rear end kicked today. I was way more nervous then normal. I&#39;m not sure why. I definitely need to do everything I can to decrease sympathetic tone before future races, as I naturally get more nervous than I need without trying. I was 62, then 2:06, then I don&#39;t know. It was a bummer. But everyone is entitled to a bad race. I just can&#39;t let this affect my confidence. I should at least be able to run a 4:12 in good conditions, even if a 4:10 is maybe a little better than I am. So now I have to decide whether to continue my season and run the last chance meet, or call it quits. After the race I threw up a bit. It was really nice to have my brother and his friends come along with my girlfriend and her roommate. Plus my family got to watch it online. Too bad I didn&#39;t run well lol.&nbsp;</p> Sat, 27 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 26, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-26-2019.html <p>Didn&#39;t feel amazing tbh. Four strides. Maybe it was because I ran in the morning.</p> Fri, 26 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 25, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-25-2019.html <p>2 by 400 and 2 by 200. I wanted to simulate race day and practice running my first lap. My first was 62 high. Uh oh. The second one I have about the same effort and thought &ldquo;there&rsquo;s no way I can hold this for four laps on Saturday&rdquo;. Luckily, that one was a 59 so I don&rsquo;t have to hold it for that long! That may have been the most controlled sub 60 I&rsquo;ve ever run. It still is hard to beleive I can run four 61.8s in a row, but every race I feel that way! So I&rsquo;m going to try to go out that hard so I can allow it to actually happen.</p> Thu, 25 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Wed, Apr 24, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-24-2019.html <p>10 miles. Warm outside.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 24 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Tue, Apr 23, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-23-2019.html <p>10 minute &ldquo;tempo&rdquo;- 5 minute pace through the lap, then a jog back to the lane 8 start. Overall I hit 3200 in 10:22. Then a good break, and two 400s in 60, 60. 2 min rest between. Then a 300 in 42 (into the wind), a 200 in 28 flat, and a 200 where we increased speed up to the halfway mark and then sprinted. Isaac got me at 12.2 but that is probably quite inaccurate. I did feel like I could have better 100 speed. It&rsquo;ll come. Light weights. Gotta run a 4:08 on Saturday&nbsp;to make the team. My goal is, unlike last race, to go out in a what is necessary to at least give myself a shot!!!</p> Tue, 23 Apr 2019 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 22, 2019 http://EthanCannon.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-22-2019.html <p>10 miles. 3 strides.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 22 Apr 2019 06:00:00